Hablando.

When I’m in a hurry, invariably there are ten things that must go wrong before I can leave the house.  Willow, get out of the office!  Willow!  Where’s my Spanish book?  Why isn’t the printer working?  Where did my makeup applicator go?  It’s a relentless stream of hurrying until I can manage to step out the door and run to my car.  Always running late, but hardly ever actually late.  Nina and I had said we would meet up between 8:30 and 9:00, and when she texted me it was 8:40.  Not late, right?

We had a great breakfast.  (I guess I should clarify that Nina was my Philosophy professor last semester, and it was the only class I actually enjoyed.)  It’s nice to have a conversation with an adult who takes me seriously.  Seeing as how I’m not getting much social time here at MU, this morning was a much-needed occasion.  (Plus I haven’t seen Nina in over a month, and I missed talking to her.)  We talked about a whole host of things, and varied conversations like that sustain me and give me much to think about.  Even with a sick and sluggish brain, I spent the majority of my trip to Marywood thinking.

Of course, I hit traffic on the way, and it was then I realized I had to pee.  Not just like a casual oh after class I’ll run to the bathroom.  No, this was oh sweet Jesus if I don’t get to Marywood within the next half hour I will have a new and embarrassing nickname.  Forget being late to class in a situation like this.  I did not expect to get a parking spot, because when you actually need something, it doesn’t happen.  Somehow I managed to get a spot in the last row, and the Jeep behind me was none too thrilled about my snag.  Walking was like tempting fate, and I thought that if I sneezed, Niagra would be falling.  (Since when do I have the bladder control of a new mother?)

I was power walking, and because I’m sick, my breathing was slightly raspy.  I was very close behind a guy not going quickly enough, so I slowed my pace, thinking, “Oh my God, what if he can hear me breathing.”

Well anyway, no new nickname, and so far my classes today have been decent.  Usually I’m self-conscious about speaking Spanish in a classroom, but when I’m sick and completely apathetic, I speak better.  I don’t spend so much time second guessing myself, and I let the thoughts just flow from brain to mouth with no interference.  Good when speaking Spanish, bad when speaking English.  There’s something to be said about monitoring your speech before it comes spilling out of your face, but hey.  To each her own.  I quite like being able to speak Spanish fluently, and I may never want to go back to being un-sick.  (Lies.)  I guess the experience is just teaching me that I can speak and therefore should have confidence about it.  I actually think in Spanish a lot of the time (truth), so why that doesn’t translate into speech is beyond me.

I better sort it out before I become a Spanish teacher, eh?

Anyway, my mom will be here soon.  She and I are going out to lunch because she got out of jury duty early.  I have off tomorrow, which is makin’ me happy in the pants.  (Lies.)  I still have to observe from 8:10 – 10:30, even though I’m probably not going to do education as an undergrad.  It seems like a waste, but I enjoy the experience… just not the getting up early.  I have one more class today, Special Ed, and then I get to go home.

Aaaaaaand I have to pee again.  Dammit, sick bladder.  Shut up.

Tell us what you think...

